Ellaroo Baby Carrier

I have been hesitating about putting up Aodhan’s birth story….for a couple of reasons. First, given the haze of labour, I can’t be sure that I have captured everything, and I don’t want to share an incomplete tale. Second, I am not sure that I am ready to have something that isn’t quite tied up in my heart yet, be up on the web. Although I am completely at ease with having had to throw out all of my home birthing dreams and head to the hospital in full and complete active labour (not an experience I suggest for anyone), I am not sure about being to see in print (and then realize I have not done justice to) the set of deep and still-hot-to-touch emotions that are associated with the day of my son’s birth. So, I think I will hold off for a wee bit longer.

But, I will write about other things. Like, how much I love co-sleeping! Nothing better then being woken up by the snuffling sounds of my little boy who is looking blindly in the dark for my boobies. Co-sleeping was pooh-poohed by the Belgian state nurse who came to check up on us in the second week of Aodhan’s life. The state doesn’t support it, but, hey, I don’t support their yucky tax system, so I think we are even on all accounts. What I do know is that behind all the great theory and writings about co-sleeping, and the role it plays in the Attachment Parenting philosophy, I have now seen first hand the practical and real-life meaning it has to me as a new mummy, my son, and my husband. We are all benefiting immensely from the decision to have a family bed – and there has yet to be any downsides (besides the glorious new puke, pee and poop stains on our sheets).

I also wanted to quickly (and I mean quickly, as Aodhan catches the last few winks of his morning nap in daddy’s arms), comment on the baby-carrier we picked up in Canada. It’s a Mei-Tai made by Ellaroo, and we have been really impressed with it. Not only can I manage to wrap the baby around me, quite securely, all on my own, but the baby does seem to love it for its snuggle capabilities. The only problem with this carrier is that I can’t breastfeed him in it. And if there is anything Aodhan loves, it’s breastfeeding. I wanted to find a way to feed him and let him nap (as he wakes as soon as we put him down), while still being attached to me. In the end we opted for purchasing a second sling of the ring variety, a locally made brand: Dharti. I am still fiddling with it (despite the hours of instructional videos on youtube) and find that getting it perfectly fitted while the baby remains asleep or latched a little difficult. But, I have visions of the future – being able to feed/nap while cleaning/cooking/writing/dancing (???).


Well, today is my birthday AND Belgian Day…so we are headed out to see what the city has to offer in the way of celebrations.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by jumbleberryjam on July 21, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    Happy Birthday! So glad you enjoy co-sleeping. We're into month 32 with it and we LOVE it :-). Also happy to hear you've found a carrier that works!

    Reply

  2. Posted by myspeck on July 22, 2009 at 3:05 am

    Congrats! I have been checking to see if he had arrived… Didn't think to check the other blog…

    Glad you're both well – its been fun following someone else going through the same journey.

    -rakster

    Reply

Leave a Reply

